Let The Blossom Tree Grow

CherryBlossomsI must admit I have been slipping in and out of that depressed state I was in when I took the overdose. But I told myself today, I will either publish a happy post or I wont publish at all. I wanted to write a poem, something that wont only make me happy but make all of my readers happy too. Well, I don’t know how to make you happy but I do hope the poem I wrote today will make you think, and give you hope if you have none.

Let The Blossom Tree Grow
Have you heard the story of the blossom tree?
An outcast seed is where it began,
And no one spoke of what it would be,
No one said how its life would pan,

Have you seen the storms it faced?
The brutish winds and the deadly rain,
But the earth you walk it chose to grace,
For one more breath it will suffer the pain,

Have you felt the bark it had?
An ugly stump blocking the view,
It must be killed as we destroy the bad,
Don’t let it grow whatever you do,

Do you know what happened after?
That old lump of wood blossomed out,
To a beauty of nature we all concur,
The brightest one without a doubt,

So why did you try to stop the blossom tree?
Why did you try to make it look weak?
It can choose to be what it wants to be,
After all, we’re all unique

It took me a while to write, since I have been in and out of that depressed state all day. Personally it feels like an unfinished piece of work, I did not edit it as much as I would have wanted. But I know my readers will love it. We already have some of you giving me “submarine hugs“, will you now be telling me to grow like a blossom tree? I do hope you choose to grow like a blossom tree too, storms fade!

6 thoughts on “Let The Blossom Tree Grow

  1. It’s true – storms fade. You know this because you’ve survived the storms before. Hold on, like that strong trunk of the blossom tree. The the gentle rain and sunshine be your focus, not the storm itself. You will feel better.
    For me, that’s the “blessing” of repeated depressive episodes. If I can remind myself that I’ve felt this way before, and it faded, that offers me hope to hang on just a little longer. You can do it, and we are here to support and encourage you.
    Peg

    Like

  2. AJ says:

    Understandably it needs editing,but sometimes like life you need to live regardless of worrying incessantly of “rules” governing us! I personally loved the poem for its spontaneity and simplicity! It was very powerful!
    Bravo! Intimidating poet☺

    Like

Leave a Reply

