[My Guest Post] Depression, Stigma and Society

My first guest post on another blog! Bipolarsojourner (a good friend, you will see him commenting on my blog regularly) has allowed me to post on his blog. I talk about the stigma attached to depression and why it means that many of the sufferers are not getting the care and treatment they need. The link is at the bottom of this post, I recommend you check out my post and his blog while you are there.

The first friend I told (except for my really good friend who lives 3000 miles away) could not understand how I had depression. “But you look so happy all the time” was one of the first things they said as we sat on the park bench discussing my mental illness. I just replied with “Yeah, I look happy, but I have depression”.

Click here to view the guest post on the bipolarsojourner blog.

3 thoughts on “[My Guest Post] Depression, Stigma and Society

  1. My mantra is “unless you have been there, it cannot be understood.” Therefore, the treatment of depression is misaligned. Energy should be placed on the expression that comes from within and allowing that person to feel unashamed about his or her internal environment. Treatment from external players, perceived professionals, seem not to get this. Truly, I believe that the treatment from the story. If the story comes out, there is something magical with the release. At least, that is my case.

    Like

    • Society seems to see depression as feeling sad, anxiety as feeling scared, and schizophrenia as a character from Narnia. People might never know exactly what it is like to suffer a mental illness but they could reach a level of understanding which breaks the stigma around it. While the stigma is still there some people will not want to speak about their story. That’s my thoughts on it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Perhaps…Reality is an individual perception of their own world. Society can be defined by family, tribe, community, and larger groupings. I think the disease model perpetuates the stigma. As long as this the case, your statement about not being willing to tell their story probably is true. We are in agreement.

        Like

Leave a Reply

