Unusual Methods To Combat Self-Harming [Part 2]

So just over a week ago I covered 4 unusual ways to combat self-harming, and I’m guessing you want more this time? These activities and ideas may not work for everyone but it is worth trying if you might not damage your body again. So let’s have a look.

Click here to see Part 1 of this series.

Random ducks at my local park!

Random ducks at my local park!

1. Feed Ducks At The Park
The only reason I thought of this one is because I was walking through the park thinking about self-harming, then suddenly I saw the ducks in the pond and started to think about ducks. Maybe only I do that… Firstly, staying in a public area will make you a lot less likely to self harm. Secondly animals seem to make people calm down, so feeding ducks (or squirrels or rabbits or whatever is in the park near you) might calm you down enough so that you don’t want to self-harm. Thirdly the fresh air will be good for you, my GP recently said I should try to get out the house every day to combat my depression.

2. Pick A Random Friend On Your Contact List And Call
Okay, so this will be the least unusual of the unusuals because you are recommended to talk to a friend when you want to self-harm. But why talk about self-harming to them when you could have a random conversation? When I told my friend (the only one who knows about my depression so far) about my self-harming and depression we ended up talking about the seaside and animals. I must admit I would rather talk about that then my depression as random conversations make me a bit happier. Also, a random conversation means you don’t have to talk about your self-harming or mental illness, you can mention that in your own time.

Yes... some of the games I own.

Yes… some of the games I own.

3. Reorganise Objects In Your Room
This could mean your alphabetise your CD, DVD or games collection. It could also mean moving all the furniture around into a new look. Get creative and use your imagination, plan the room you have always wanted. It is a great way to keep busy, and you could always invite a friend over to help you. Keep busy and sociable should stop you from self-harming, especially when you can keep the activity up for hours. While you are doing it, why not throw away your self-harm tools as well?

4. Meditation
Focus your mind, grasshopper, find your inner peace… Something I do to calm myself down, and something many people do to stop self-harming. If I remembered to meditate when I wanted to self-harm I would probably self-harm less, but for some reason I seem to forget. I might try writing “meditate” on my arms so I can remember. Basically, just sit down on a hard surface (e.g. the floor), close your eyes and focus on your breathing. After a few minutes I am generally calm, so you might not need to meditate long to stop the urge to self-harm.

Wow, so we have now covered 8 ways to combat self-harming. Yes! There will be a third part to this series, so follow the blog or check back regularly to see when it is released. It shouldn’t take more than a week, but it’s Christmas soon so who knows. Have you tried any methods from this article or the previous one? Or have you got a secret method of your own? Share below in the comments.

6 thoughts on “Unusual Methods To Combat Self-Harming [Part 2]

  1. My mom was a major cutter. I have inherited the tendency to want to hurt myself instead of others when I am upset, but I resist. I don’t want to hurt myself, just need to find a healthy way to channel that. Petting an animal, writing an encouraging note to someone else, reading, exercise, music and dancing to it, mixing up something yummy to cook, drawing, getting out of the house, and many other things help me when I feel that frustration welling up. Now I struggle less, because I look at my little girl and know that I would NEVER want her to hurt herself or to see her mom do it, and it makes it easier to deal with my emotions in a healthier way. I haven’t been one to hurt myself, because I resist, but I would have been if I hadn’t….if that makes sense… Great tips and I’m glad you are sharing them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

