Take Some Haiku’s, Take Them!

So it took me a couple of hours to get to sleep last night. I’m not going to bore you with all the depressing thoughts I had but now I find it funny how my thoughts went from depressing to haiku’s last night a couple of times. I don’t know why I started thinking of haiku’s, I haven’t even looked at one for ages! There must be a secret haiku overlord watching over me saying haiku’s are the key to happiness. Well… I guess I will have to believe him/her/it (whatever this overlord is) this time. I woke while it was still dark, and decided to write a few.

Sun creeps above clouds
Ready to pounce on those who
Only see shadows

Darkness moves closer
Becoming the emptiness
Hidden in my soul

Frosty winds shoot me
But they cannot defeat me
Sadness did the job

I could hear people in the house shouting. I think if they are going to argue, at least argue over something important. It makes me sad (or sadder – I’m always sad) when my family argue over pointless things, sometimes I just blame myself so at least there is a reason for them to argue. More haiku’s anyone?

I can only see
My future, A future of
Pain and loneliness

Hashtag depression
I’ve already been labelled
But why can’t I choose

I’m probably going to spend the rest of the day depressed now. I’m not sure whether to sit writing poems, playing video games or randomly searching the internet. None are probably going to make me feel any better for the rest of the day but boredom is just as bad as depression. One more haiku before you leave.

Raindrops and teardrops
Roll down the fallen statue
Of a broken man

5 thoughts on “Take Some Haiku’s, Take Them!

  1. I really enjoyed your poems- as a person who has fought depression, they hit me on a personal and deep level, and reminded me of times I spent going through some of those feelings. (I say some because I can’t assume any of your story, I can’t understand all of your struggles or battles because I am not you. And I always hated when people assumed they knew everything about me just because I seemed sad.) BUT, I wanted you to know that after just glimpsing some of your art, I don’t think you know your beauty or your value as an artist, as a being, as an individual created by God for a reason, for a beautiful reason. I am looking forward to reading more of your work, and I will be praying for you. You can read some of my stuff at thessbummerguru.wordpress.com

    And if you ever need to be heard or need someone to talk to, hit me up and I’ll leave you my email. Beautiful poetry!

    Like

Leave a Reply

